3 Reasons Why Taylor Swift Could Write YA

Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift (Photo credit: Eva Rinaldi Celebrity and Live Music Photographer)

Lately, it seems like every celebrity is writing YA nowadays. From Tyra Banks’ Modelland to Hilary Duff’s Elixir series, YA is becoming a popular genre. Heck, even Lauren Conrad and Snooki are becoming apart of the YA world, and even though I’m not a huge fan of all her music, there is one girl who I think could write a few YA novels of her own.

I bet you can guess who she is.

1. Most of her fans are teens.

Sure, I’ve met a few 2nd graders who LOVE T-Swift, and moms who like her more than the average teenager, but at the end of the day, Tay Tay’s fans are usually around the ages of 12-17.

There’s a reason for that.

It’s simple: teens relate to her songs. How many high school girls do you know of who put Taylor Swift lyrics as their Facebook/Twitter status and are always first in line to buy her newest album?

If the answer isn’t “more than I can freaking count”, you probably don’t know a lot of teenage girls.

The girl knows how to connect with the female youth, yo. Maybe not all of us, but enough of us.

2. She’s a good story-teller.

Okay, so homegirl’s no Bob Dylan or William Shakespeare, but she’s got some pretty good stories to tell. No, seriously. Doesn’t You Belong With Me sound like the perfect story for a contemporary YA novel? Or how about Fifteen?

I believe that, with the right team, T’s got it in her to whip out a good YA novel or two.

3. She’s Taylor-freaking-Swift.

…Do I gotta say more?

Which celebrity would you like to see write YA and why?

You Belong with Me

You Belong with Me (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why Taylor Swift Could Write YA

    • She read the HG? Huh, I didn’t know that. That’s cool 🙂 One awesome thing about YA books being turned into movies is that more people are starting to read YA now, including celebrities.

  1. Um, yes! Her songs are YA stories, y’know? “I wear t-shirts, she wears short skirts” That’s an entire premise! Anyway, Sarah would totally read anything by Jack Black or Dave Grohl. It would be hilarious and completely inappropriate. But, okay, that wouldn’t be teen. We’ll go with Alexis Bledel (Rory Gilmore). xx

  2. I had a dream I met Taylor Swift, only I didn’t know who she was and asked her if she was any relation to Jonathan Swift, and made lots of Gulliver’s Traveler’s references, and she was really annoyed. lol.

  3. It seems like all celebs are hopping on the YA bandwagon. I thought it was pretty awesome too when I read Taylor read the Hunger Games. What celebrity would I like see write a YA book? Robin Williams. That guy would have me in stitches the whole way. I’d like to see Emma Watson write a YA book.

    • If Robin Williams wrote a YA book, that would seriously be the coolest thing EVER. I could imagine it would definitely have to be something fun and quirky. I think Emma Watson would do a good job at writing for teens, too.

hey, feel free to join the discussion....just don't be a jerk. jerks are so over-rated.

